Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall opened as Assembly Hall during the 1971-72 season and Branch McCracken Court was dedicated on December 18, 1971. Since then, millions of fans have attended Indiana Basketball games. Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall holds 17,222 fans and is consistently sold out throughout the regular season.
In December 2013, Indiana Athletics announced a gift from Indiana alumna Cindy Simon Skjodt to provide much needed renovations to Assembly Hall and launch Indiana Athletics' capital campaign. In recognition of the gift, Assembly Hall was renamed Simon Skjodt Assembly Hall and was re-opened and dedicated on Oct. 14, 2016.

Three NCAA National Championship teams have called the stadium home.